Introduction to CCIE


  The College of Communication and Information Engineering (CCIE) was established in July 2005 basically by merging the original Department of Communication Engineering (the 2nd Department) and the Department of Information Engineering (the 3rd Department).
  After an adjustment of colleges and departments carried out in our university in September 2008, the college currently has 161 faculty and staff members, including 26 professors, 32 associate professors, and 75 lecturers. Among them, there are 11 PhD supervisors and 40 master’s supervisors. More than 79.8 percent of the full-time teachers own doctor or master degree, 4 professors are titled “Discipline Leader”, and 7 “Academic Leader”. 

  The college now has 4306 full-time students, in whom 90 for PhD program, 934 for master program, and 3282 for bachelor program. In the past 50 years, more than 40000 students have graduated from CCIE, and most of them became the backbone of the information technology and industry in our country.
  At present, the college has a primary doctoral program and a post-doctoral research station (“Information and Communication Engineering”), 2 doctoral programs and 2 master’s programs (“Communication and Information System” and “Signal and Information Processing”), 5 undergraduate disciplines (“Communication Engineering”, “Electronic Information Engineering”, “Electronic Information Science & Technology”, “Networking Engineering”, and “Broadcasting & Television Engineering”). In these undergraduate disciplines, the “Communication Engineering” and “Electronic Information Engineering” are “National Distinctively Featured Discipline” and, at the same time, the “Provincial Highly Renowned Discipline”. In addition, the “Electronic Information Science and Technology” is the “Provincial Distinctively Featured Discipline”.
  The college has 2 key disciplines: one is conferred both as the “National Key Discipline under Construction” and “Provincial Key Discipline” (“Signal & Information Processing”) and the other as the “Provincial Key Discipline” (“Communication & Information System”). These two working groups are also assessed to be the “Excellent Academic Teams of Higher Education in Jiangsu Province”. The college also owns 2 Provincial Key Laboratories (“Image Processing & Image Communications” and “Wireless Communications”), and 2 Provicial Combined-Industry-Education-Research Exemplary Bases for Cultivating Graduate Students (“Signal and Information Processing” and “Communication Engineering”), as well as a Provincial Experimental Education Exemplary Center (“Communication and Information Processing”).
  The college comprised of 5 departments: (“Communication Engineering”, “Network Engineering & Technology”, “Radio Engineering”, “Information Engineering”, “Image, Broadcasting & Television Engineering”), 2 teaching centers (“Experimental Teaching on Communications & Information Processing” and “Experimental Teaching on Communication Technology”), and 2 research institutes (“Information Processing & Transmission” and “Communication Technology”).
  Owing to a sustain effort in research, the following 4 focus research directions have naturally formed in CCIE: “Wireless Communications”, “Network and Switching”, “Image and Multimedia Communications”, “Communication Signal Processing”.
We are making every efforts to march forward with academic discipline building as the starting point of first importance and with personnel cultivation as the vital basis, to deepen the education reform, to strengthen the discipline building, to combine discipline building tightly with scientific research and undergraduate education as well as graduate education, and to make the college as the scientific research and academic base in the communication and information area as well as the highland of qualified personnel cultivation in our country.